Social networking software

Yo, Facebook: Delete This

Now, I'd have to be a complete idiot to not realize that my Facebook account had been restored. But at no point was I warned that I was reactivating an account I had deleted. It's not quite the same as a third-party site reactivating that account by pinging it, but it's close.

Just to be sure, I repeated these steps with Facebook Connect on Huffington Post's comment system. This time, I did receive a screen asking me if I still wanted to deactivate my account (though I have to say, it's pretty obtuse - hitting "cancel request" ends up reactivating your account, not canceling your current action.)

(Click on image to see a full-sized version.)

Conclusion: How Facebook deals with third-party software reactivating accounts is inconsistent at best. But how Facebook handles account deletions is still really really crappy.

So it's clearly possible that Calacanis was telling the truth, not that I really give a damn about him or TechCrunch or their bitchy little squabble. But it's clear that Facebook still doesn't understand how Facebook really works. Isn't it about time they learned?

Author Dan Tynan tries to quit Facebook at least once a day. The rest of the time he tends his snark garden at eSarcasm . Follow him on Twitter (if you dare): @tynan_on_tech.

Subscribe to the Daily Downloads Newsletter

Comments