Security

Potential Facebook Scam Uses Age Progression as a Lure

Have you gotten a Facebook Chat message that links to a site that purports to show you an age-progression of how you'll look in 20 years? It could be a scam.

We got word late Friday about this latest purported scam, which, judging from comments posted by Facebook users, may be spreading via both Facebook Chat and wall posts. The message users are receiving is as follows:

"haha did you see this yet? it's pretty funny... see what you look like 20 years older, mine is HILARIOUS :) [link redacted] whoops sorry meant to send that to someone else :P"

When you click the link in the message, it'll apparently post the above message to your wall or send it to friends via Facebook Chat, thus spreading it to others. It's hard to say for sure if this possible scam is collecting personal information, but you should assume that your account has been compromised, especially if another site asks you for your Facebook login information.

Protect Yourself

First and foremost, you should not click any links that seem even remotely suspicious, even if they're from people you know and trust. If you clicked on a suspicious link that asked you to enter your Facebook login information, you should not enter anything. If you did enter your login information, you should change your Facebook password immediately. Additionally, if this happens to you and you your Facebook password for other sites (say, your Ebay account), you should change that too to be safe (in general, you shouldn't use the same password for multiple sites).

[Update: A reader points out that you should check your Facebook Apps list first to see if there's anything listed that you didn't authorize. If the scam is passing around as a Facebook app, it won't be able to gain access to your account unless it tries to trick you into giving up your login information in a phishing attack. To see which apps you've authorized, log into Facebook, click the Account drop-down menu in the upper-right, and click Privacy Settings. From there, look for the "Edit these settings" link under Apps and Websites.]

We'll update this story with additional information if we learn any more about this latest scam. If you've encountered this scam or ones like it, let us know in the comments below.

Subscribe to the Security Watch Newsletter

Comments