Google+, Day 11: Understanding the +1 Button

As with other social networks, when I find a post that I like on Google+, I can choose to add my two cents by commenting on it, or I can just click a button to show my support or approval. On Google+, that button is the +1 button. For today's 30 Days With Google+ post, I am taking a closer look at what happens when I click +1, and what it really means.

The +1 button is not unique to Google+. Google introduced the concept of voting approval for Web sites back in March of this year. The whole point, though--even before the launch of Google+--was to incorporate social networking elements into Google search results, so it only makes sense that Google would also bake the +1 button into its own social network.

Google +1 Button
The Google +1 button turns blue after you click on it.
What is it? Well, I am doing my best not to spend the 30 Days With Google+ series directly comparing the Google social network to Facebook, but the simplest explanation is that +1 is Google's version of the Facebook "Like" button.

At the bottom of any given post on Google+ there is a little square with the trademark Google red, blue, green, and yellow across the top and a "+1" in the middle. If I like the post and want to show my approval, but I don't feel like actually typing a comment, I can just click the +1 button.

Once I +1 something, my +1 vote is tallied along with any other +1 votes. The +1 count of a given post can be a barometer for choosing which posts to read and which to ignore. It might be nice to read all of the stuff that flows through my Google+ stream, but who has that kind of time? But, if five, or ten, or fifty people on Google+ or from my personal social network +1 a post, perhaps it deserves some special attention.

The +1's tab should list my +1's, but it seems that may be a work in progress for Google+.
The content I +1 is used by Google to identify my interests and retrieve more relevant search results and also target online ads at me. My +1's may also show up in the search results of people within my social network thanks to Google's integration of Google+ content and Google search results.

Supposedly, when I +1 something, it is also added to the +1's tab of my Google+ profile. However, I have +1'd (what is the past-tense verb of +1 anyway?) more than a few things and my +1 tab of my Google+ profile is empty. Perhaps that is a feature Google is still working on.

Google explains that I have some control over who can see that +1's tab. However, it also says, "Regardless of whether you chose to publicly share your +1's tab, your +1's will still be visible to others viewing the content you +1'd. For instance, your +1 could appear as part of an anonymous aggregated count of the people who have also +1'd the same thing. Your name could also appear next to the +1 to help your friends and contacts identify which content may be most useful to them."

Like Facebook, there is no way to show disapproval. Google+ doesn't have a "-1" button for posts you don't like. One thing that Facebook does have, but Google+ doesn't, though, is the ability to change your mind. On Facebook you can "Unlike" a post or comment that you have "Liked", but on Google+ your +1 is permanent.

I'd like to see a system that implements both "+1" and "-1". For one thing, as much as I'd like to know which sites or services my friends from my social network approve of, I would also like to know which ones they think suck. As far as the +1 tally, Google could just display the net total. For example, if there are ten "+1's" and 4 "-1's", the +1 box would show a 6.

Just a thought.

[Update: Thanks to some input and feedback from readers both here in the comments, and from readers who follow me on Google+ itself, I have learned a couple new things about the +1 button. First, some readers pointed out that the items I +1 within Google+ do not appear listed on the +1's tab, but that the items I +1 elsewhere on the Web do. The Google+ page that explains +1's does not make that clear--and, in fact, seems to imply the opposite. I had never +1'd anything on the Web, so mine was blank. I went and +1'd some of the previous 30 Days With Google+ posts and verified that those do show up. It seems like the adding of +1 tracking within Google+ itself might still be a work in progress.

The second thing is that readers informed me that you can in fact take back your +1 after the fact. If you click the +1 button a second time it will switch from blue back to white (or gray--or whatever you want to call that) and your vote will be removed from the +1 tally. You can also click +1 again, and again, and again and it will simply toggle off and on. This behavior is not clearly explained in the Google +1 description, and I hadn't noticed that hovering over the +1 button after you have clicked brings up a pop-up message that reads "Click again to undo".]

Read the last "30 Days" series: 30 Days With the iPad

Day 10: Which Browser Is Best for Google+?

Day 12: Following People in Google+

To comment on this article and other PCWorld content, visit our Facebook page or our Twitter feed.
Shop Tech Products at Amazon
Notice to our Readers
We're now using social media to take your comments and feedback. Learn more about this here.