Watch the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade live in 360 degrees on YouTube

Get on the street level and gawk at the floats and balloons with a 360-degree live stream viewable in Chrome, or in the YouTube apps for iOS and Android.

verizon macys thanksgiving live stream

Ah, Thanksgiving traditions. Watching football. Eating too much. And of course, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, which this year will be live-streamed in 360 degrees on YouTube.

You’ll be able to see the floats and the giant balloons from immersive street-level views thanks to 360-degree cameras placed at strategic points along the route. While it’s arguably more social to watch the traditional NBC broadcast on a large screen with friends and family, anyone wanting a closer look can check out the 360-degree view on a laptop—or pull on a Google Cardboard headset and pretend the family disappeared for a few minutes.

The parade’s live stream starts on Thursday morning at 9 a.m. Eastern (8 a.m. Central, 7 a.m. Mountain, 6 a.m. Pacific). To watch it, you can use the Chrome browser for a desktop computer, which lets you pan around by dragging or using the WASD buttons on your keyboard.

On the mobile side, you can use the YouTube app for Android or iOS and just move your device around to take in the entire view, or use a Google Cardboard device or another smartphone-powered VR headset. To enter Google Cardboard mode, tap the three vertical dots and look for the Google Cardboard icon in the pop-up menu.

This story, "Watch the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade live in 360 degrees on YouTube" was originally published by Macworld.

To comment on this article and other PCWorld content, visit our Facebook page or our Twitter feed.
Shop Tech Products at Amazon
Notice to our Readers
We're now using social media to take your comments and feedback. Learn more about this here.