Deleting Twitter Posts Doesn't Remove Them Completely

Today's Best Tech Deals

Picked by PCWorld's Editors

Top Deals On Great Products

Picked by Techconnect's Editors

Jonathan Ross has helped reveal to Twitter users that deleting a post from the micro-blogging service doesn't actually remove the post completely.

Ross, a British television personality who has more than a quarter of a million followers on the service, posted his full e-mail address but then quickly deleted the post, after realizing his error.

However, by using Twitter's Advanced search facility, all posts (whether they have been deleted or not) can be found, meaning that thousands of Twitter users can still get hold of Ross's personal e-mail address.

Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at security firm Sophos called Twitter "irresponsible" for failing to delete posts completely.

"In Ross's case, his e-mail address could have been scooped by spammers or used by fraudsters pretending to be the star," said Clulely.

Cluely added that all Twitter users could type something they didn't mean to, or post the message in public rather than send as a direct mail.

"Accidents like this will happen, and Twitter should be helping, not hindering, its users to clean up the mess afterwards. For Ross, his best bet is to change his e-mail address as soon as possible."

This story, "Deleting Twitter Posts Doesn't Remove Them Completely" was originally published by PC Advisor (UK).

Note: When you purchase something after clicking links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. Read our affiliate link policy for more details.
Related:
  
Shop Tech Products at Amazon