Games to Keep Eye on Following Golden Joystick Awards

Today's Best Tech Deals

Picked by PCWorld's Editors

Top Deals On Great Products

Picked by Techconnect's Editors

The UK-based GamesMaster Golden Joystick Awards have been running for 29 years now, making them one of the most long-running award ceremonies in the industry. They're also one of the few events where the winners are determined exclusively by the public rather than industry representatives, making them a good indication of what the people actually playing the games think is worthy of note.

This year saw over 2.06 million votes being cast by the public, smashing the Guinness World Record previously set at the 2009 ceremony. Big winners included Portal 2, which picked up the Ultimate Game of the Year award, while The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim was determined the "One to Watch."

Here's the full list of awards and winners, with nominees being picked from the past 12 months of new releases:

Action/Adventure Game of the Year: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood

Mobile Game of the Year: Angry Birds Rio

Roleplaying Game of the Year: Fallout: New Vegas

Massively Multiplayer Online Game of the Year: World of Warcraft

Fighting Game of the Year: Mortal Kombat

Racing Game of the Year: Gran Turismo 5

Sports Game of the Year: FIFA 11

Strategy Game of the Year: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty

Music Game of the Year: Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

Free to Play Game of the Year: League of Legends

Downloadable Game of the Year: Minecraft

Shooter Game of the Year: Call of Duty: Black Ops

One to Watch Award: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Innovation of the Year: Nintendo 3DS

Outstanding Contribution: Sonic the Hedgehog

Ultimate Game of the Year: Portal 2

This story, "Games to Keep Eye on Following Golden Joystick Awards" was originally published by GamePro.

Note: When you purchase something after clicking links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. Read our affiliate link policy for more details.
Shop Tech Products at Amazon